Minimalistic Living

In my previous blog posts, my mentor Beth Dailey had asked about the Malagasy homes and was curious about the home environment. I can only speak from my observations and experience. During my homestay I stayed with a single mother and her two children, her fifteen year old daughter and twenty year old son- both of which are students. As you can see in the images I have posted, my family cooks all of their meals on wood fires. The kitchen and dinner table are located on the porch, which has been made into a living space. My family had minimal supplies and reverted to saving many of the bottles and bags in order to reuse them for later use.  In addition, we had minimal electricity a

nd no running water. It is interesting how quickly one can adjust to having so little and living in a minimalistic setting. Throughout my homestay experience I became very aware of how lucky I am to have such luxuries such as running water, a warm shelter, and constan My homestay family lives on the second story. This is the outdoor/patio turned into a dining room and relaxation area.t electricity. My homestay family lives on the second story. This is the outdoor/patio turned into a dining room and relaxation area.

 

.Outdoor cooking area when it is warmer.

 
My homestay family lives on the second story. This is their patio turned into a dining area.
IMG_6844 copy

Outdoor cooking area when it is warmer.

Leave a Reply

