Think Big. Do big.

It is Malagasy custom to ask others “Avy Taiza Anao?” -where did you come from/ where have you been? Many times when walking to the market or going to the post office I find myself answering this question. It seems funny to me that Malagasy people focus more on where you have been then where you are going. I see parallel in my students when I ask them “Where do you want to go after you graduate, what do you want to be when you grow up?” They have a difficult time answering this question.  I began thinking that if my students are constantly focusing on where they have been instead of where they are going- this mindset can hinder the motivation to think big and do big.

I set out to do an activity in hopes of getting there motivational big thinking juices flowing! I asked them to draw three dreams they wish to accomplish and give a small presentation to the class.

Think Big. Do Big.

2 comments

  1. donteattrash

    how did it go with the students? And what have you found is the strength in them that they look back wards a lot. Does that mean they plan and learn from the past well?

Leave a Reply

