Walk on your tippy toes

P1000707

 

After 2 days of driving through the red dirt of Madagascar while having layers of dust pasted on our skin we arrived in Bekopaka. The ride was surprising and made me smile since every child we passed waved their arms and yelled “SALUUTTT” with big grins.

Having done some research prior to arriving in Madagascar the ever so famous Tsingy had been on my bucket list.

The verb MITSINGY in English literally translates to “walking on your tippy toes”. The name definitely is a reflection of what our hike felt like, walking on our tippy toes for 4 hours.

Our guide, Landry, gave us a great history lesson on these magnificent rock formations. A veritable cathedral of limestone the “Tsingy” was once completely underwater. Now these massive limestone needles is a home for many rare species of fauna and flora, including 11 species of lemurs, many of who are nocturnal. The Tsingy cover 85,000 ha and allow hikers to test their strength, confidence, and fears by climbing them.

Using harnesses to attach ourselves to ropes along the adventurous journey, we made our way to the top of these magnificent formations. My favorite- a suspended bridge between limestone needles!

This was by far the most amazing, breathtaking, and beautiful adventure I have been on in this country. Definitely recommended.

3 comments

  1. anonymous

    Your photos are amazing! I was wondering, what kind of camera do you use? I would love to know because I want to buy a new dslr camera before my upcoming trip to Ghana. Love your blog!

    • Charlotte Emilie

      I am using a Cannon D60! I absolutely love it. I would recommend it most definitely, it is on the expensive side. Prior to investing in this camera I was using a DSLR Nikon D60 which are now quite affordable. Look into it! Thanks for following! I really appreciate the feedback!

  2. worldhug

    Hello. . .I was in Madagascar and the Tsingy in 2012 and loved it. My travel group hated the drive, but I adored it. . .Baobab Avenue and all of the villages–you are right, it is wonderful to see all of the children along the way. I also enjoyed the rainforest in the northeast and the dry areas in the south–especially love the town called Tulear. Anyway, hope your work is going well over there. . .all the best–David.

Leave a Reply

