Her smile changed.

This is Landrycia.

A couple months ago her grandmother reached out to me having heard that I brought children to an Operation Smile mission in Tana. I greeted her and her grandchild and explained that I would not be able to attend the mission held in Tamatave yet if she was prepared to travel on her own I would ensure that she would make it safely and be housed. I coordinated with the Catholic Church in Tamatave and paid this woman and her grandchildren fare up to the city.

Two months passed by and no sign of her or her grandchild. With no cell phone it was impossible to reach out to her. I didn’t know if she made it safe. I didn’t know whether her grandchild had been a candidate for surgery ( suffering from cleft lip).

At 8 months she looked tiny, thin, weak, and tired. Her mother had a difficult time breast feeding her because of the cleft lip and had been ostracized by members of her village for not properly caring for her child, thus leaving the child in the care of the grandmother.

Today, a young girl ( the one in the photograph showed up at my house. I responded “Akory!” (Hello!”) my mind turned she looked familiar. Then a few seconds later her grandmother came around the corner, “charlotteeyy! Efa sitrana Landrycia!” The grandmother yelled ” she is healed!” I stared in awe. This young girl was no longer weak, no longer thin, no longer without hope. She stood in front of me with beautiful big round eyes, healthy as can be barely a scar in sight.

Thank you Operation Smile.

IMG_1668-0.JPG

One comment

  1. Robin

    Hello! I am a PCV in Mozambique and am planning a trip to Madagascar in May or late April. Are there older volunteers there? I would love to get some travel tips and possibly meet up with volunteers while I travel. Are there any volunteers in the capital? Can you put me in touch with folks or send out my name and email and ask anyone that is interested to give travel tips or meet up to contact me ? Thanks. robinp823@gmail.com. My blog is robinpicard.blogspot.com. Thanks so much. Robin Picard. I was a Ukraine PCV for a year prior to being evacuated. Looks like you are doing alot with your service. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

