A glimpse of my daily routine.

 

The Cultural Center  of Hope is going extremely well. I could not be more proud. A person very dear to me once said, “Charlotte when things get rough just put your head down and go.” Things have not been easy lately, my parents recent divorce, my uncle passing away, medical issues. Yet, this Center has truly given me hope. It has given me strength. These children are inspiring. Seeing them eat books with their eyes. Seeing them starve for knowledge, its really amazing, its truly inspirational. The center has been a work in progress. I have gone from just being a high school teacher to opening the first ever Cultural Center in Mahanoro. The children flock from every direction once I open the door, screaming “ Hello MISS! MISS Vocabulary!!! Miss I like the book!!!”

My mornings start early. At 4:30-5:00 I get up water my plants (still attempting to garden). Then open the center at 6:30 so kids can hangout before school starts. My librarian, Madame Bao Sabine and Madame Kameline arrive, take my place and I bike 2 miles to the high school. I teach from 7 am – 9am then again from 9am – 11 am. By 11:15 I am back at the Center closing it up and answering final questions from kids. I head upstairs (where I stay), attempt to gather together a lunch. Right now it has consisted of grated carrots and sardines! Sometimes My neighbor (I think she notices how late I have been preparing lunch and that I do not eat rice and feels bad) so often she brings over fish or rice. Very very sweet of her.

By 2:00pm I am opening up the doors of the center and staying open until 6:30pm. Adults start trickling in around 5:00 pm when they finish working their day jobs or have just gotten back from the countryside for clove picking season. We go over some vocabulary and I answer any dialogue questions they may have.

Classes will begin in January. I am really looking forward to teaching.

I received great news the Chef Cisco will be building an exterior bungalow to be used as an extra teaching space! This comes to me as wonderful news seeing that we have 670 members!!!

Classes will begin in January. I am really looking forward to teaching.

I received great news the Chef Cisco will be building an exterior bungalow to be used as an extra teaching space! This comes to me as wonderful news seeing that we have 560 members!!!

 

3 comments

  1. barrie

    We live vicariously through you. The adventures you’re having are mesmerizing and inspiring. And we’re suffering losses too, in very personal ways. Your accomplishments are our best medicine. And yours too. When you feel down, re-read your posts from the first year to remind yourself of the joy. It will help you get up again and succeed beyond your wildest dreams.

Leave a Reply

